School Choice

This is a public announcement.  Public School Choice in Arkansas allows students to attend a public school in a district other than the one in which they reside.  Applications for students in the following counties: Clark, Grant, Hot Spring, Pike, and Saline, (must be made by May 1, 2020) to qualify for provisions under the Arkansas Public School Choice Act of 2013.)

Pursuant to standards adopted by a non-resident school board, a non-resident district may reserve the right to accept and reject applicants based on capacity of programs, class, grade level, or school building.  Likewise, a non-resident district’s standards may provide for the rejection of an applicant based upon the submission of false or misleading information to the above listed request for information when that information directly impacts the legal qualifications of an applicant to transfer pursuant to the School Choice Act.  However, a non-resident district’s standards shall not include an applicant’s previous academic achievement, athletic or other extra-curricular ability, handicapping conditions, English proficiency level, or previous disciplinary proceedings, except that an expulsion from another district may be included pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. 6-18-510.  Priority will be given to applicants with siblings attending the district. The non-resident district shall accept credits toward graduation that were awarded by another district and award a diploma to a non-resident applicant if the applicant meets the non-resident district’s graduation requirements. Applications must be postmarked or delivered to resident and non-resident school districts no later than May 1, 2020 for a child to be able to enroll for the Fall 2020 semester.  Transfers shall be granted on a non-discriminatory basis. Students who have been accepted and enrolled in previous years do not have to reapply as approved transfers remain valid for as long as the student attends that public school.  


School Choice at Bryant 2020-21

Under the Arkansas Public School Choice Act, a school district’s board of directors must adopt a resolution setting specific standards for the acceptance and rejection of school choice applications.  

Because student enrollment at each elementary grade level, at both district middle schools, Bryant Junior High School and at Bryant High School, exceeds ninety percent (90%) of capacity and because participation in the Arkansas Public School Choice program would require the Bryant School District to add additional teachers, staff, or classrooms,, the Bryant School District Board of Directors adopted a resolution which allows only the following school choice applications to be approved: 

(1) applications from siblings of students who already attend the Bryant School District through an earlier school choice transfer; 

(2) applications from students who attended school in the Bryant School District during the 2019-2020 school year, but whose families moved out of the Bryant School District. 

Priority for acceptance of school choice applications will be given to an applicant who has a sibling or step-sibling who resides in the same household and is already enrolled in the Bryant School District by choice.

To access the application click here.

Para acceder a la aplicación en español, haga clic aquí (próximamente).